Lucero – 1372 Overton Park

Band: Lucero

Album: 1372 Overton Park
Label
: Republic Records
Release Date: 10/06/2009
By OldRockr

$9.99

I know I am getting old.  I am the OldRockr afterall but I am not the DeadRockr.  I still wanna rock sometimes.  The problem is finding great new rock bands.  There are lots of newer Warp Tour bands but they hold no appeal for me.  I need a little rougher.  There really is nothing pretty about Rock & Roll, at least to me.

There is great new rock music out there, you just have to look for it.  Places like Texas, Tennessee, Oklahoma, Indiana, Ohio and even NYC are homes to some great rock & roll.  And not just the whiny my girlfriend broke up with me 18 is so hard bullshit.  I am talking beer drinking, sleazy, no chance you will ever find me on American Idol Rock & Roll.

One band you need to check out is Lucero.  These guys have been around a while and are the band you have been missing.  Think Springseen if he grew up in Memphis drinking too much and listening to the Clash instead of Roy Orbison.  Their newest release is their first on a major, but don’t let that fool you.  This record reeks of good old fashioned rock & roll.  It’s right up there with my other favorite from 2009 (the totally different but truly amazing Electric Dirt by Levon Helm).  And if you want wide appeal it is my 15 year old son’s favorite from last year as well.

I wanna be clear, Ben Nichols is not the world’s greatest vocalist.  His voice is too scratchy and real to be classified as that.  He is however one great Rock & Roll voice.  If you like the Lucero LP check out his solo album “The Last Pale Light In The West”.  it doesn’t rock like Lucero but it is full of really great songs.

1372 Overton Park has it all.  It’s got those great Memphis sounding horns, rockers like Sounds of the City and Smoke, and some great tracks that are a bit more introspective.  Check out Can’t Feel a Thing, Goodbye Again and Hey Darlin’ Do You Gamble.  This is some serious songwriting here.  Listen, just head on down to Looney Tunes and pick this bad boy up.  In fact get it on vinyl (it’s blue too).  You will not be disappointed.

For fans of the Replacements, Uncle Tupelo, Son Volt, The Hold Steady, Springsteen, etc.

Lucero will be at the Music Hall of Williamsburg on March 30th.

Published by

oldrockr1

Just an OldRockr trying to find new music in a young world! It's out there, you just have to look...and listen!

Leave a Reply

