Coleen’s Top Ten

Ok so here’s my top ten for 2009. I like to keep things short and sweet, so don’t expect any lengthy explanations :)

I would recommend these titles to anyone into the indie/ pop punk/ hardcore scenes! Enjoy!

1. Kevin Devine- Brother’s Blood

     One of my favorite albums of all time. If you don’t check this out, you’re missing out.

2. Matt & Kim- Grand

     Ever hear one of those albums where you love every song from start to finish? This is that album. This duo makes me want to dance like no one else! Especially during the song “Cutdown”.

3. Every Time I Die- New Junk Aesthetic

     This band basically never puts out a bad album. It’s no Hot Damn, but it’s a solid album otherwise!

4. Lady Gaga- Fame Monster

     I can’t help but love everything that Lady Gaga puts out. Yes, I know that makes me lame. It’s just so catchy though. Fame Monster isn’t too long (Only 8 songs), but definitely worth a listen to. Especially the song “Telephone”.

5. Say Anything- Say Anything

     Love this band. Their lives shows are a blast. If you liked their first album, you’ll definitely love this! Lyrics get a little cheesy, but other than that definitely a great album.

6. Manchester Orchestra- Mean Everything To Nothing

     No matter how many times I listen to this album, I still like it just as much.

7. Air- Love 2

     They’re an electronic band from France. I first got into them when I watched The Virgin Suicides (They do the whole soundtrack) and they just have such a unique sound. If you like Love 2, definitely check out The Virgin Suicides soundtrack as well!

8. MeWithoutYou- It’s All Crazy! It’s All False! It’s All A Dream! It’s alright.

     MeWithoutYou definitely took things in a different direction this time around, but luckily it turned out pretty cool. But if you’re expecting a typical MeWithoutYou album, you’re in for some disappointment.

9. Converge- Axe To Fall

     Solid album, for sure. Exploding with brOOtalness.

10. Where The Wild Things Are- Original Soundtrack

     Karen O from the YeahYeahYeahs did this album. Definitely something different. Best soundtrack of the year as far as I’m concerned.

One thought on “Coleen’s Top Ten”

Leave a Reply

